Weekly Reflection #4 (week 6)

These past two weeks had me freaking out again! I was just starting to feel confident and then we were thrown a new curveball. While I feel like blogging is more about working with a set of guidelines, working with wikis felt more like following a set of formatting rules. Working now with both blogs and wikis, I wrote in my FirstWikiNotesJET that I can see the similarities, like linking things, but I think they have more differences in reading and writing.

I won’t lie, I hated the way wikis looked when I first started. I felt like writing in a wiki looks so messy and unorganized, and it drove me nuts how you can see all the formatting codes within the text. After working on my JeannaToninato name page though, I felt a little better about how the “finished” wiki looks. It took some getting used to, but I didn’t mind it at the end of the week…..And then we were given the assignment I knew in my gut was coming and was terrified; editing someone’s else’s wiki!! All of my concerns with the wiki had to do with editing other’s works. I wasn’t really worried about someone “messing up” my work, but I was terrified about ruining someone else’s.

 This has been the hardest assignment yet for me. It wasn’t hard reading and doing the research on the topics we chose (I like finding out more about these things), but synthesizing ideas and added to another wiki was challenging. I am more comfortable being an audience to wikis, but being the author gave me a new role I felt I wasn’t ready for. I wanted to make sure I was following the rules of the wiki and going with the flow of what someone else had before me. Keeping 1st person point of view was hard for me. I have been so comfortable writing about my experience and opinions, that keeping my POV in check was difficult. I did notice though, that after working on the wikis this week, I now type in the wiki way. The stuff I have been writing has been a lot of 3rd person, and bullet lists.

I thought choosing the wiki pages I was to edit would be hard, but I feel like they found me. While I was reading through the SentencesAboutWritingOnAWiki, a few jumped out to me that I felt like I could connect to.

The first one I edited was CreativeActOfSynthesis. I editing some of the writing, I added some new information and changed around the order of the page the way I thought made it look more organized. As I go back and read it, there are still things I know I need to work on:

            – Did I go overboard on students ( should I have made it more general)

-linking out to other websites (too much)

-deleting things (This made me nervous deleting other’s work)

-I feel like it is still not organized right, but don’t know how to fix it

 The second wiki I worked on was AudienceAsFamily. I linked in my first image to a wiki on this! It might be changed, but I couldn’t get that song “We Are Family” out of my head while working on this wiki, so I wanted to add that. Again I had some difficulties. I added new information on the concept of the audience being seen as a family.

-I included a ThreadMode and some considerations that weren’t ready for   DocumentMode

-I also wanted to add both the negative side as well as the positive side to the audience as a family.

The last wiki I edited was WikisAndCredibility. This one I felt the most confident in my abilities to add to. I did my research on this one because I had a lot of questions and concerns about Wiki credibility. I added comments about ethos and how wikis are hard to be seen as credible sources because anyone can comment anything to them. I added information about tools that can protect wikis and the information presented. I added links to other sources about when to use wikis and when not to. I also added a new page, WikiScanner, that is its own entity because I felt like it should have it’s own space.

 I added all these notes to my JeannaToninato page  under SentencesAboutWritingOnAWikiJET.

 This week has been a challenge. I found it extremely difficult not to put my own experiences on it. I’m used to blog mode and less on summarizing information. I wanted to tell a story, and I felt like wikis were not the right platform for it. So far, I feel like I have more freedom with my blog, but I actually am getting used to the idea of collaborating with others to create something new. Once I started editing others wikis, I realized it wasn’t at all as scary as I thought it would be. I also like the idea of wikis being a place where people can learn about and add to the information already out there.

 A side note: I felt so dumb that it took me this long to realize our WeblogsAndWikis syllabus is all on a wiki. I had to laugh when I made the connection.