Setting up my blog

I don’t know about you, but I have never been very good with technology. I was the girl in middle school, who cried when all the other kids would use Powerpoint for their presentation, and I was the only one who made a poster board presentation. I was the last student in my high school graduating class to join Facebook, and I still don’t know how to download messenger. I think part of my problem is that when I don’t just instinctively know how to do something, I panic! I hate that feeling of not understanding something, especially when everyone around me seems to “just get it”. I will be very honest when I was reading through the WordPress manual, the first few times, I thought I was reading another language. I probably read what widgets are ten times, before I finally kind of understand what they are. I “created” this blog and knew nothing about it. I will say that after some patience and re-reading, I started to “get it” a little. Once I knew what a widget was and how to organize them, I saw that my blog was starting to take on my personality. I like neat lines and things to be organized, and I think my blog reflects that. I learned, by accident, how to upload your own photos, so I posted one of my fiancé and I from this fall. I liked my blog’s theme, but I didn’t like the default picture. After some trial and error, I figured out how to change them and I think it looks better. Also, as I’m typing this, I think I have figured out how to post on my blog! There are some things I still don’t quite get. I understand why we want to put things in categories to keep them organized, but I’m not sure how tags are different. I read about the permalinks, and am still not sure what that really does either. One big thing that I don’t understand is every time I am editing my blog, it brings me to a new tab, and by the time I’m done, I have twelve tabs opened!? Is there a way that I can just work on one tab and it not disappearing? I bookmarked my blog, but it still is happening.

2 thoughts on “Setting up my blog

  1. pataphysicstoday says:

    Jeanna – WP opening tabs might be a setting in your browser. When I view a page, it will open in a new tab, but the editing and preview appear only in one.

    Try searching google with: wordpress opening tabs. The might get you to the support area of WordPress.

    – morgan (using pataphysicstoday)

    Like

Leave a Reply

